Breaking News Bar

Redbirds win four-team event at Saline County Country Club

Staff Report
updated: 9/17/2018 10:09 AM

West Frankfort shot a 163 to beat Eldorado (176), Harrisburg (190) and Hardin County (235) at a four-team meet at Saline County Country Club late last week.

The Redbirds got a 38 from Ryan Hopkins and a 41 from Ryley House. Tyson Elko and CJ Johnson both shot 42's, while Gabe Cambell carded a 43 ad Bryson Dorris shot a 47.

Eldorado's Noah Smith took medalist honors with a 37, while Evan Coyle wasn't far behind with a 41. Kaiden Lloyd and AJ Hankins both shot a pair of 49's. Ely Boulds played as an individual and shot a 55.

Harrisburg got a trio of 47's from Andrew Bittle, Krayton Morse and Ben Brombaugh, while Ashton Hall's 49 was the fourth score. Colby Morse carded a 54 and Clay Brigham came in with a 68.

Calen Banks shot a 43 for Hardin County, which was followed up by a pair of 63's from Gabe Fowler and Braxton Joyner. Bryson Cullum's 66 was the fourth score, while Jake Vaughn (71) and Marshall Hall (75) also played as individuals.

At the Marion Invitational, which was also held late last week at Kokopelli Golf Course in Marion, Harrisburg was ninth out of 11 teams with a 382.

Benton won the event with a 306, while Robbie Moore took medalist honors with a 35-34 69 for the Rangers.

Herrin was second with a 317, while Belleville Althoff was third with a 321. West Frankfort (326) and Marion (351) rounded out the top five, while Centralia (352), Massac County (354), Carbondale (370), Harrisburg (382) Mt. Vernon (390) and Mt. Carmel (407) rounded out the field.

Bittle shot the low round for the Bulldogs with a 92, while Morse fired a 95, Hall finished with a 96 and Brombaugh carded a 99. Hayden Emery shot a 119 as an individual for the Bulldogs.