|
|
|
The Daily Register - Harrisburg, IL
    • OPINION

  • Editorials, Letters and Opinion for Harrisburg IL.
Updated Mar 27, 2015 at 9:42 AM

Republicans hailed the budget resolutions released this week by the House and Senate as a blueprint for addressing the urgent problem of what to do for the poor and middle class once they become rich.

Updated Mar 27, 2015 at 8:50 AM

Spring has sprung. The signs are all around us.Birds are chirping. Flowers are blooming. Moore, Oklahoma, has been hit by a tornado. And Pete Rose has asked for his lifetime ban for betting on baseball to be lifted.

Updated Mar 27, 2015 at 8:44 AM

A Pennsylvania police officer has been charged with murder in the death of a man who sped away after the officer noticed he had an expired inspection sticker on his vehicle. When the officer caught up with the man he attempted to flee on foot.

Updated Mar 26, 2015 at 9:38 AM

“The Four Tigers” is a shorthand label for the dynamic economies of East Asia which achieved strikingly rapid growth from the 1960s into the 1990s – Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan.

Updated Mar 25, 2015 at 12:27 PM

Dave Granlund cartoon on Warren Buffett.

Updated Mar 24, 2015 at 11:10 AM

We were talking about death, about the growing number of young people killed by overdoses of heroin and prescription drugs. If anything would scare people away from drugs, I said, it would be the death of a friend.

Updated Mar 24, 2015 at 10:26 AM

When I was a senior in high school, I posed one of the cruelest questions ever to my parents.“So,” I asked, one night at the dinner table. “How much money have you saved for my college education?”

Updated Mar 20, 2015 at 7:56 PM

About 15 years ago in Winter Haven, Florida, Thomas Roe Oldt, a columnist for the local paper, The Ledger, wrote about the quick and unlikely arrest of two teenagers accused of murder.

Updated Mar 19, 2015 at 2:20 PM

Iran is now a source of tremendous strain in United States domestic politics as well as foreign policy. Escalating divisions between Democrats and Republicans are greatly complicating our foreign policy. In the end, this may strengthen the influence...

Updated Mar 16, 2015 at 3:19 PM

Dave Granlund cartoon on the news.

Updated Mar 12, 2015 at 2:21 PM

The shocking physical attack on U.S. Ambassador Mark Lippert in Seoul may appear just the latest negative news from the Korean peninsula. On March 10 he left the hospital, five days after being slashed in a knife attack by a deranged fanatical...

NEXT 10  »
«  PREV 10
    • Events Calendar