Breaking News Bar

Four 'Dogs Named To SIRR Ohio All-Conference

Posted on 3/6/2018, 10:31 AM

The postseason awards keep pouring in for the Harrisburg girls' basketball team.

Last month, three members, Matty Hawkins, Lotte Miller were named to the All-State team, while Hawkins and Miller, along with Jessica Hopson and Karsyn Davis were all named to the IBCA Class 1A/2A All-State Team.

Last week, those same four were named to the Southern Illinois River-to-River Ohio Division All-Conference Team.

Hawkins, who was named First Team All-State and First Team IBCA averaged 13 points per game and 11 rebounds per game, while also averaging 6.2 blocks per game. This season she surpassed the 1,000 career points and 1,000 career rebounds mark and is currently No. 4 in IHSA history in career blocks.

Hawkins was named to All Tournament Team at the Harrisburg Invite and the Benton Christmas Tournament. She was named Most Valuable Player of the Eldorado Mid-Winter Classic.

Hawkins will play volleyball for Trinity International University in Chicago.

Miller, like Hawkins, also went over the 1,000 career points mark this season and averaged 14.3 points per game, along with, 5.3 assists per game and 3.3 steals per game. Miller has been a 2 year starter and has helped Harrisburg to a school record 31 wins.

Miller was named to the All-Tournament Team at Harrisburg, Benton and Eldorado.

Miller has some offers, including Lindenwold-Belleville, North Park (Chicago), Ripon (Wisconsin) and JUCO offers from John A. Logan College and Southeastern Illinois College.

Hopson, the third senior and 3-point specialist, averaged 13 points per game and five rebounds per game to go along with four assist per game.

Hopson was named to All-Tournament Teams at Harrisburg and Eldorado.

Davis, who is regarded as one of the top returning players in southern Illinois next year finished in double figures for Harrisburg with 12 points per game. The out-going junior averaged 8.1 rebounds per game and 2.2 blocks per game.

Davis was named to the All-Tournament Teams at Harrisburg, Benton and Eldorado. Davis has verbally committed to Southeast Missouri State for softball.

Also on the SIRR Ohio All-Conference Team was the Murphysboro duo of Kayla Walker and Arie Ciganovich, Benton's Ebriessa Casey and Mady Wallace, along with West Frankfort's Megan Berry and Cali Wright. Massac County's Lauren Coakley rounded out the list.

Michael Dann covers prep and college sports for the Southern Illinois Local Media News Group. Follow him on Twitter: @spydieshooter.