Breaking News Bar

Little contest in school board races

Posted on 4/8/2015, 1:00 AM

Only in Eldorado and Carrier Mills were there contested races for boards of education.


For Eldorado Board of Education"s two open seats in one geographic area, Jason V. Kasiar received 631 votes or 34 percent and Stacy L. James received 569 or 30 percent.

Defeated were John D. Cooley, Trudy Etienne and Stanley Walters.

Preston Justice ran unopposed for remaining townships within the district and received 576 votes.

Carrier Mills-Stonefort

There were four open seats in Carrier Mills-Stonefort and six candidates.

Saline County cast votes for William Clay Nolen with 194 votes or 20 percent, John Whiting with 191 votes or 20 percent, Zach Rister with 158 or 16 percent and Sherryl Case with 137 or 14 percent.

Michael Shayne Parks and Ryan J. Beck were the low vote getters. Some residents in Williamson County also cast ballots in that race, but they were not available at press time.


Galatia Board of Education had no contested races and Robert "B.J." Pigg, Aaron Allen, Bryan McCabe and Joy Richey were all elected.

Gallatin County

Saline County voters residing in Gallatin County School District voted for Wesley J. Henson, Steve Galt, Olivia Bradley and an unknown write-in candidate who received a single vote. The race was uncontested.


Harrisburg Board of Education also had no contested races within each geographical area and Billy G. Smith, Jeffrey A. Drake, Ryan Lambert and Chris Penrod were elected.


Southeastern Illinois Community College District had no contest for the three open six-year term seats and voters elected Richard Alan Morgan, Blake Bradley and David L. Dennison.

There were two candidate for the single 2-year unexpired term and voters elected Debra Black Hughes with 2,356 votes or 69 percent over Shirley Fearheiley with 1,031 or 30 percent.