The Daily Register - Harrisburg, IL
  • Prep Baseball/Softball: McGuire racks up postseason honors for Hawks

  • GEC announces All-Conference baseball, softball teams
    • email print
  • Gallatin County's Wes McGuire is adding plenty of offseason hardware to his mantle.
    The Southeastern Illinois Community College baseball signee was named co-MVP of the Greater Egyptian Conference, along with Pope County's Austin Ferrell and McGuire landed on the Illinois High School Baseball Coaches Association 1A All-State team.
    McGuire's teammate Dane Hish was named captain of the GEC All-Conference Baseball Team, while Darren Betz (Carrier Mills), Brady Householder (Thompsonville), Cole Tucker (NCOE), Tyler Thompson (Pope County), Marcus Wargel (Gallatin County) and Colton McCree (Crab Orchard) rounded out the list.
    Three players, Dalton Summers (Carrier Mills), Loren Whiting (Carrier Mills) and Braden Cook (Hardin County) were named to the honorable mention team.
    Representing southern Illinois and joining McGuire on the IBCA 1A All-State team were Webber Townships Ty Henderson and Shawnee's Adam Pennington.
    The 2A IBCA team consisted of Harrisburg's Ryne Roper and Carterville's Sammy Stearns, along with Teutopolis' Jared Waldhoff and Kyle Pruemer.
    On the girls' side, Hardin County's Krysta Rokosh was named MVP of the GEC All-Conference softball team, while Kylie Jones (Hardin County) and Ashley Bowles (Pope County) shared co-captian honors.
    Larissa Bond, Emily Reed and Liz Sloan, all from Galatia made the squad, while Brittany Noel (Pope County), Emily Edwards (NCOE) and Kelly Johns (Crab Orchard) rounded out the list.
    Casey Crowder of Carrier Mills, Summer Galloway of Crab Orchard and Danielle Davis of Hardin County were named to the honorable mention team.
    Michael Dann can be reached at mdann@dailyregister.
    Twitter: @spydieshooter
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar