The Daily Register - Harrisburg, IL
  • Prep Golf: Dogs Denied Crown

  • Harrisburg finishes fourth overall at SIRR Conference
    • email print
  • Mike Tison knows all to well it's all about what have you done for me lately.
    The Harrisburg High School head boys golf coach came into Tuesday's Southern Illinois River-To-River Conference Golf Tournament at Hickory Ridge with high expectations.
    Rightfully so. All season, Harrisburg has been dominant against its opposition, leaving many of them in their wake en route to low scores.
    And then Tuesday happened.
    For the third time in as many years, Massac County took the team title at the Southern Illinois River-To-River Ohio Division boys' golf tournament.
    The Patriots blistered the field with a 311, followed by a 318 from Benton for second place.
    Harrisburg was denied its opportunity at Hickory Ridge Golf Course in Carbondale and Tison knows the bigger picture is still in sight.
    Harrisburg finished third overall with a team total of 321 as they now set their sights on next Tuesday's regional at Kokopelli Golf Course in Marion.
    Finishing fourth was Herrin with a 335, followed by a 340 from Murphysboro and a 364 from West Frankfort.
    The Harrisburg duo of Alexander Tison and Ryan Williams joined eight others on the SIRR All-Conference list as both shot a 77 for the Bulldogs.
    I thought we had a real chance to have four golfers on the all conference team, but we did have 2 golfers on the team," Tison said. "If the whole season was taken into account rather than just the tournament, we would have.
    "Ryan was consistent with a 38 on the front and 39 on the back," Tison said. "His ball striking has been very good this year. Alexander, has had a great year and was 5-over after eight and played the last 10 holes even par. He started hitting the ball really well and had a couple drives over 300 yards."
    Dillion Street shot an 83 for Harrisburg, while Patrick Bittle put up an 84.
    The other two scores not counting towards the team total came from Garrett Jenkins' 87 and Ben Fowler's 90.
    On the Mississippi side, Nashville won its fifth straight conference championship with a 308. Since 1996-97, the Hornets have won 12-of-17 team titles.
    Carterville came in second with a 343, followed by Pinckneyville (353), Sparta (367), Anna-Jonesboro (376) and Du Quoin (434).
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar