The Daily Register - Harrisburg, IL
  • Prep T&F: Spotlight shines on Bulldogs

  • Harrisburg steals the show at Benton Spring Fling
    • email print
  • If the Benton Spring Flings are any indication of things to come, Harrisburg boys track and field, may be the team to beat in southern Illinois this season.
    Despite not being a scored event, the Bulldogs brought home eight out of 18 overall events Saturday in Franklin County with D.J. Duncan carrying the torch for Harrisburg as the senior won the 110 high hurdles, the 300 intermediate hurdles and was a part of the 400 and 1600 meter relay teams that also took top prize.
    Duncan won the 110's with a time of 15.1 and took home gold in the 300 with a time of 39.6. Duncan then anchored the 1600 meter relay team that won with a time of 3:32.
    Also on the 1600 meter relay team was Luke Horton, Preston Boone and Capel Henshaw.
    Duncan led off for the 400 meter relay team, along with Corbin Crim, Dylan Yates and Bryan Miller that finished with a top time of 45.7.
    The Harrisburg 800 meter relay team also finished in first place with a time of 1:35.9 and featured Crim, Miller, Henshaw and Yates.
    Isaac Ingram won the shot put for the Bulldogs with a toss of 49-feet-11 and Jacob Conkle won the long jump, clearing 20-feet-7.
    Horton rounded things out by winning the 800 meter relay with a time of 2:03.
    Other teams to compete Saturday in Benton included the host Rangers, along with Murphysboro, Herrin, Goreville, Sparta, Egyptian, Okawville and Meridian, just to name a few.
    Late last week, Harrisburg participated in a Ohio Division conference preview type meet with fellow schools, minus West Frankfort.
    It was a non-scored team meet, but the Bulldogs did win 13-of-18 events, including the 400, 800, 1600 and 3200 meter relays.
    Duncan also won the 110 high hurdles and the 300 intermediate hurdles.
    Snowy Bjornsson was a double-winner, along with Duncan, winning the long jump and triple jump.
    Ingram was tops in the shot put, while Austin Lowry won the pole vault. Corbin Crim took the 200 meter race and Boone won the 400, while Horton won the 800.
Terms of Service

    Events Calendar